## DOMINION PARLIAMENTS SINCE 1867.

No. of Parliaments.  1st Parliament	*1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th	Date of						
		Opening.			Prorogation.			Dissolution.
		Feb.	15, 15, 15,	1867 1869 1870 1871	June May April	22, 12, 14,	1868 1869 1870 1871	July 8, 1872.
2nd Parliament	†1st	March Oct.		1873 1873			1873 1873	} Jan. 2, 1874.
3rd Parliament	1st	March Feb.	4, 10, 8,	1875 1876 1877	April	8, 12, 28,	1874 1875 1876 1877 1878	Aug. 17, 1878
4th Parliament	1st	Feb. Dec. Feb.	12, 9,	1879 1880. 1880 1882	March	7, 21,	1879 . 1880 . 1881 . 1882	May 18, 1882.
5th Parliament	1st	Feb. Jan. Feb.	17, 29,	1883 1884 1885 1886	April July	19, 20,	1883 1884 1885 1886	} Jan. 15, 1887.
6th Parliament	1st 2nd 3rd 4th	Feb. Jan.	23, 31,	1887 1888 1889 1890		22, 2,	1887. 1888. 1889 1890	Feb. 3, 1891.
7th Parliament		Feb. Jan. March	25, 26, 15,		July April	9, 1, 23,	1891 1892 1893 1894 1895	

<sup>\*</sup> Adjourned from 21st Dec., 1867, to 12th March, 1868, to allow the Local Legislatures to meet.

- 50. There have been six complete Parliaments since Confederation. The first Parliament was the longest one, and the second was the shortest. The average length of each session has been 89 days, or nearly 13 weeks. The longest session was in 1885, viz., 24 weeks and 4 days; the next longest was in 1891, viz., 22 weeks. The shortest session was in 1873, and only lasted 2 weeks and 1 day.
- 51. There have been but two changes of Government and six ministries since Confederation; and with the exception of the period from 17th November, 1873, to 17th October, 1878, Sir John Macdonald was at the head of the Government from 1st July, 1867, to the day of his death, on

<sup>+</sup> Adjourned 23rd May till 13th August.